Centralia Fireside Guard

Follow Us On:

Centralia High School National Honor Society inducts 29

Posted on Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 6:45 am

National Honor Society’s new members — This year’s inductees to the Centralia High School chapter of the National Honor Society. From the front left: Christopher Marriott, Nathan Riddle, Noah Brooks, Logan West, Andrew Rish, Griffin Anderson, Claire Bennett, Taylor Carrico and Baylee Beard. Middle: Margret Stanley, Hannah Danielson, Annamarie Stone, Anna Million, Nealia Toedebusch, Alaina Berendzen, Gage Pemberton, Ryan Miller and Mason Metcalf Back: Diamond Deener, Josie Specker, Terra Veazey, Emma Romine, ReaLee Smith, Kennedy Dickerson, Emory Biggs, Mara Davis and Ava Stephens Not pictured: Miranda Gregis and Mason Barr.

The crowd was limited to around 50, and flashlight bulbs had replaced candle wicks, but the National Honor Society tradition at Centralia High School has persevered.

The evening of Wednesday, Oct. 28 the modest, but very appreciative crowd watched as the officers of CHS’ Prairie Queen chapter of the National Honor Society swore in 29 new members.

Of those, 24 were juniors and five were seniors.

The ceremony was led by a quartet of NHS officers: Joella Melegrito – president, Chris Heimann – vice president, Kylee Walters – torchbearer.

During the ceremony, four senior members read presentations regarding NHS’ four criteria.

They were Abbie Ross – scholarship, Heimann – leadership, Tianna Pace – service and Preslie Barnes – character.

Through their presentations, audience members heard how the organization, the country’s oldest student academic group, was about more than grades.

For the complete article, see this week’s edition of the Centralia Fireside Guard.